A successful person is one who has earned a lot of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The amount of money a person has earned is often used as a viable parameter to measure success. Being rich might define success in materialistic terms nevertheless, there are numerous other crucial variables that can be used to gauge a person's accomplishments in life. The following paragraphs will shed light on these. To begin with, social connectivity can be considered an important facet. It is common knowledge that money cannot buy happiness and human beings are social animals. A person might have ample money but without developing adequate social connection with family or friends or society in general, the person will always end up feeling lonely. This feeling of loneliness will cause a negative effect on the general well-being of the person and life satisfaction. General well-being and life satisfaction attained as a result of social support is thus, a more prominent measure of success because it has deeper psychological impact. Additionally, another important factor can be the extent to which a person is satisfied with his or her career path or the way the money is earned. Firstly, earning a lot of money at the expense of choosing a career that one loathes can be detrimental for again over all well-being. Secondly, it is essential to develop skills, talents and moral values as compared to a high salary. For example, there are plethora of careers that have high revenues but are not considered to contribute to society such as drugs mafia or other illegal occupations. These occupations are not considered to be ethical or even successful despite of huge revenues. Therefore, we can easily say that high salary, profits or revenues simply does not define success. In conclusion, money and material things be one part of success but non material things like relationships and self-fulfillment can be more eminent.