Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or a negative development?

We live in an age where many people prefer to communicate through digital platforms rather than having an in-person conversation due to the convenience of digitalization. From my personal view, I believe that this is a negative development that can lead to multiple problems later on in life. This essay will elaborate on the reasons why it is considered to be harmful, followed by a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, one possible side effect that can arise from socialising online is lacking interpersonal skills. The absence of social skills can prevent understandings of the emotion and intentions of the person that they are speaking to. Consequently, this can be an issue for individuals when having to interact with other people in real life. According to a study by the public health organization, over 70% of young adults are unable to initiate conversations in their daily lives given the excessive use of social media as a regular communication tool. Essentially, overcommunicating on online platforms can have damaging effects on socializing skills. Another issue is that spending the majority of time in the digital world can lead to an increased risk for mental illness. Prior to online communication, people would frequently do physical activities with family and friends. However, with technology advancements, many prefer to isolate themselves with online messaging and networking. To exemplify, a study featured in Health magazine indicates that 7 out of 10 people have experienced the feeling of depression and exhaustion from the use of social media. Despite the fact that the internet provides convenience for individuals to converse with other people, it also distracts them from their surroundings. In conclusion, although socializing through the internet has can be beneficial for our generation, it also caused destructive impacts regarding personal issues such as lack of social skills and depression. Thus, it should be used in moderation to achieve benefits rather than harm.