It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, humans have the ability to visit distant natural landscapes because of advanced transport technology. This trend brings both benefits and problems to humans and the local ecosystem. The main benefit is scientific development. Some cutting-edge scientific theories can be proved by field trips. For example, biologists can go to the South Pole to investigate the living environment of local living beings, such as plants, animals and bacterias, which can give them opportunities to get first -hand evidence and experience. It can help them to correct and prove their biological researches, pushing their researches beyond theoretical levels. Moreover, they will have a deep understanding of the specific species. This can contribute to help the government and the organization to design more comprehensive plans of biological protection. However, visiting a remote natural environment also results in negative consequences. It is common to see that tourism causes detrimental impacts on local people's living, for example, the water pollution in Chile. Since the government want to develop tourism in the Atacama Desert, lots of restaurants and shops are opened in the city named San Pedro de Atacama, which creates a large quantity of wastewater, polluting the water in the river. As a result, residents who are living in downstream villages do not have enough clean water to drink and irrigate, and many of them died because of the contaminated water. In conclusion, as discussed above, the current travelling to the distant natural environment can benefit scientific researches, while it also leads to the negative result threatening local people's living in some cases.