Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

A progressing number of the general populace is opting to start their own companies instead of working for a company mainly because of increased support for young entrepreneurs. In my opinion, the primary drawbacks of not having an employer are lack of expertise and its overall effect on businesses. On the one hand, the number of self-employed is related to young entrepreneurs and has its origin in widespread angel investment across a variety of industries. One well-known example of this can be seen on the popular show "Shark Tank", where a panel of investors and executives of investment firms hear product pitches and compete to acquire stakes in budding entrepreneurs' businesses. This show has launched a number of successful products, which has led to a trickle-down effect from the show. Not only has it turned specific dreams into realities, but it also encourages viewers in general to be more ambitious and has therefore been one of the main catalysts for the frenzy of self-run business in recent years. There are undoubtedly positives to all these start-up companies, but I would argue that the overall impact is negative because it results in numerous poorly run businesses. As an illustration, recently a dozen of ride-sharing apps including Uber, Grab, Go-Viet, and countless others have sprung up. The established companies have managed to provide a functioning app with high-quality service to meet the growing demands of this industry. However, the vast majority of small start-ups find themselves in over their heads with apps that barely function and driver shortages that specialise in inconveniencing customers. It would be better for the people starting these derivative businesses to either work in companies, gain valuable experience, look for gaps in the market and then develop worthy competitions or be content to have a steady job in a well-established corporation that they do not own. In conclusion, the rising number of self-run companies has led to a cult of overconfidence. If more people were satisfied working for others rather than pursuing unrealisable ambitions, this would be likely to better consumer products across the board as well as increased national economic prosperity.