More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can government encourage people to take public transport?

It is irrefutable that private vehicles can be used by numerous masses as compared to public transportation.There are ample of causes why people choose their own car, such as time-convenient, safe as well as comfortable rather than other vehicles. However,the government should apply certain policies to encourage people to use buses as well as trains. The prime reason for using a car is to provide comfort during the journey, especially for long distances,which is impossible on buses. For instance, last month,I went from Punjab to Delhi in my car and I completed my way according to my comfort without any rules or regulations. Moreover,safety concerns can also be considered as another good factor for selecting private vehicles by the people. For example, I read yesterday's newspaper and was shocked after reading that one person, who has a mental disorder, attacked another person. Hence,it is risky to go anywhere with busses. Nevertheless, although, people nowadays, promote a self-driving experience,it can not be affordable for all communities. Therefore,the government ought to make some rules for the people.So,most folks use public vehicles. For example,In Punjab, Government buses are free for all women,which is a good step for the central government to promote public transportation as using more private vehicles in any area, leads to pollution. Moreover,the government should take only fifty per cent of bus fare from daily employees. Hence,the public uses it regularly for travelling,which not only boosts the economic level of the country but also reduces the use of cars. To conclude, people ought to prefer a car for longer distances for their convenience and safety,but they should try to use buses for shorter distances. Therefore,some environmental issues can be mitigated by declining the use of private cars.