18. The range and quality of food that we can buy has changed because of technological and scientific advances. Some people regard this change as an improvement, while others believe that it is harmful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A variety of food products these days showcase an evolved change. Due to advancements in science and technology, the quality and range of food-related products have wider benefits. Some consider it harmful, while others see it as an improvement. In today's essay, I will be discussing my notes on both views and provide my opinion. Firstly, let's discuss the harmful effects. Most packed food items in recent times are frozen for which chemical formulations are used. Apart from this, many farmers tend to spray pesticides on fresh vegetables and fruits. Albeit, such solutions keep them fresh and long-lasting, it is not considered healthy for our human body. For example, Hydrochloric acid is used as a disinfectant but proved poisonous to mankind. There were reported cases of allergic reactions to the consumption of HCL used fruits. This indeed decreases the quality of the produce and ascends the harmful effects. The amount of humans diverting towards organic cultivation is an example of itself. Conversely, in ancient times, due to a lack of preservatives, most cultivated crops were rotten. Farmers faced severe damages affecting them psychologically and financially. With the recent advancements in science, the quantity of the harvest is improved, as well as with technological developments, the harvests can be stored for a much longer period of time. For instance, rats, snakes and earthworms eat the plants. Because of the chemicals and pesticides, we are able to control them from entering the fields. Also, frozen food products are most convenient to store and use. To conclude, there are two sides to a coin, so does this raising argument. It definitely has multiple views attached to it. Scientists are working towards eradicating those harmful implications. Therefore, In my opinion, it is a considerable development but does affect our health.