Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an argument between some individuals that it is better to accept unpleasant situations than striving for improvement. In my opinion, although certain situations in life can be accepted, it is always better to strive for more and improve in those situations for betterment. On the one hand, majority of people are unable to accept their situation, therefore, acceptance becomes more satisfying. For example, individuals living in very poor economic conditions. Research shows that a country called Guinea-Bissau in West Africa is one one of the poorest and most unstable nations in the world, both due to political instability and food insecurity. For persons living in such surrounding conditions it would be inhumane to suggest that they find a way to improve their lives when it may not be possible. Such persons are better off accepting their condition cannot be changed and just focus on their survival. These conditions are very rare in developed countries but more common in countries where there is war. On the other hand, few individuals would refute that even in the most difficult situations people can strive for betterment of life with continued effort. People who reside in developed and developing countries work hard and become successful. For instance, Nigeria as a country has been devastated by war reducing its infrastructure and increased national debts to be paid off, yet has risen economically. By not accepting the economic condition after the downturn, the citizens were able to improve their lives which should serve as an example to other suffering countries. In conclusion, there are just a minimal situations where accepting undesirable situations would be advisable because hard work and a positive mindset can pay to some valuable extent.