People buy a product if it fulfills their needs; there is no need for advertisement. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it? (personal viewpoint)

It is often the case that a person encounters innumerable advertisements in his/her all day long, and this often leads to purchases that are sometimes unnecessary. Some people then hold a belief that advertisements serve no useful purposes and there is no need for them, saying that customers are wise enough and will make a purchase when the product can accommodate their needs. From my perspective, this is a rather crude and unsophisticated view and may even adversely affect our society. Admittedly, the enormous number of advertisements and the seemingly beneficial functions of a product/service which one sees may encourage consumerism in his or her own thoughts. And that is the contributing factor of the throw-away society among the majority of young people of late. However, to say that there is no need for advertising somewhat underestimates its beneficial impacts on both consumers and the society. First, in its very core function, advertisements do inform customers of a product, which might indeed suit their needs and their economic status better than any other products they have had prior knowledge of. Secondly, we should think of advertising not in terms of promoting unnecessary commodities but in terms of publicizing little-known ones. This might be essential for the upstarts, who are innovative and want to sell their newly developed products, or services. It is usually the case that new companies have just a small part if not none of the market share, and with them, advertising their products is the one and only way to make them known and help them reach customers. All too often, a young good corporation could not survive the fierce competition from well-established ones, and this has deprived the society of many handy products or useful services that these less well known companies offered, which could have contributed to the prosperity of our society. In conclusion, to say that there is no place for advertising is to neglect its favourable impacts on both customers and society. However, customers also need to be more sensible while making purchases in order to avoid unnecessary buying. (345 words)