Nowadays anyone can post news on the internet. As a result, we cannot trust information we read there. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to rapid technological development, it became possible for anyone to share any piece of information online with a larger audience. However, it also gave an opportunity for certain people to post fake news in order to cause disinformation among the population. For that reason, I firmly believe that readers cannot trust everything they read online. The main reason the Internet is full of unreliable news is social media platforms. On the one hand, they could be used as an efficient tool to inform the broader public about various events happening in the world. On the other hand, the same users could be harmed because of misleading data. For instance, in the past year vast amount of details about COVID-19 and vaccination had been posted online and some of it was untrue. This caused increased panic and led to mistrust of scientifically proven methods of preventing the spread of the named disease. Furthermore, because of the option to repost it is more challenging to get to the roots of the source and check its credibility. Additionally, the internet allows bloggers and social media influencers to share their thoughts and even advice, which could be merely their biased opinions and not factual. In most scenarios, those well-known personas have no prior knowledge of the topic. Hence, by spreading their views on certain topics, such as health-related, they could encourage their audience to use certain medications, which in turn might be harmful to an individual’s wellbeing. In the final analysis, social media attributes to the increasing number of unreliable information, due to the fact that any person with an internet connection is able to post their thoughts online, regardless of their level of knowledge on a particular subject.