There are more new towns being built nowadays it is more important to include public parks and sports facilities than shopping centres for individual to spend their free time to .what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the number of newly-built cities is increasing. While some people believe that it is better to construct shopping malls for inhabitants to spend their spare time, I personally think establishing sports amenities and parks that are open to the public are of more benefits. The supporter of constructing shopping malls in cities, on the one hand, claim that it can bring comfort in residents’ lives. They insist such commercials centres provide individuals with all their needs gathered in one place ranging from food and groceries to clothes and sports equipment. Thie ease of access to all goods in one place, cause most people to find purchasing less time-consuming. By doing so, therefore, people will experience a much more convenient life, whereas if they do not have such an opportunity, they will probably have to dedicate much of their time to shop in the long run. I, on the other hand, believe that providing sports amenities and green spaces accessible to the public to spend their spare time, would have substantial positive impacts on dwellers’ lives. To begin with, building such parks make people more social. That is not to say that those who do not go to the park can not improve their social skills at all, but people going to the park are more likely to start to communicate with each other particularly when their children are playing together and parents are waiting for them. In doing so, people can get to know each other and expand their social network, as well as boost their communication skills. Supplementary to this, sports centres, bring health to one ’s life. Having such a place in a neighbourhood, there is more probability that one goes for exercising. This means that more people do sports leading to improving public health as exercising boosts mental and physical health. Therefore, the health status of the whole society can improve significantly. In conclusion, although construction of commercial centres for newly built cities would be beneficial for individuals in terms of facilitating shopping processes, I personally think establishing green spaces with public access and centres for physical activities is more advantageous for people as it can boost the communication skills of individuals, as well as improve public health.