In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been a hotly-debated topic that if citizens of a country ought to be taxed for the medical services that will be faced when they will have retired. In my point of views, taxpayers have to be benefited whenever now or later on since they have given great contribution to the society as part of their gains for working. As healthcare services are essential to the elderly, the governemnt has to subsidise for it. And where does those pounds come from? Of course they are from the pockets of the individuals! Therefore, the ones who will be using the services should had been charged when they were employees. To be specifically, the more likely the people will be in need for such services, the much tax that they have to be imposed to in order to balance the budgets of the government. Nevertheless, it is not easy for a public sector organisation to account for the exact quantities of medical services that one will use in the future of above 20 years later. Such extrapolation requires the government to have collected sufficient amount of data of the citizens' general health for statistical purposes. Unfortunately, not many health authorities can have access to all the citizens' health data sets just because there are plenty of private healthcare providers who do not have the responsibility to share their patients' health information with. Furthermore, it is argueably arguable that whether the unpriviledged privileged should not be required to afford as much as those wealthy personnels in the overall funding of the healthcare services. If we look deeper, this issue might contribute to the income inequalities as well as wealth gaps in a region, and hence leads to unstableness and unsustainable developemnt of the economy. In conclusion, the foundation of a country's healthcare system matters a lot when the parliament is considering to impose more charges to the current taxpayers for the medical services that they might be using in the future.