Some people say that music is good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Human beings, albeit their numerous differences in terms of geology, race and living habits, do share some common taste in art. This is particularly true regarding music. It is my belief that this form of art is capable of bonding people of different cultural backgrounds, but I doubt that it has equal effects on different age groups. In this essay, I will discuss these opinions. The power of music can transcend borders, thanks to the advances of technology and the intensified global communication of our age. Internet and media multinationals make it possible that a global audience gets instant access to a new album released in a certain country. On social media, it is very common to see fans of different countries sharing their likes and dislikes about the new album of a certain singer. The popularity of countless internationally well-known pop music stars—Madonna, BTS boys and Sam Smith, to name a few—is strong proof of this argument. However, it should be noted that it is largely the younger generations that are able to steer freely in the internet music world. Because senior citizens are not as technologically agile as young people, it is harder for them to come into contact with foreign music styles and the latest music trends, needless to say, share the taste for musical tunes with youngsters. Besides, the examples of rock n’ rolls, hard metal and techno demonstrate clearly that some music styles do receive much more hail from a certain age group, as their audiences are composed mainly of teenagers and young adults, whereas kids often find these tunes impenetrable and older people tend to dislike these styles deeming them as “too dark” or “too noisy”. To sum up, music does have a common appeal amongst people of distinct cultures, which is especially true for young netizens, whilst it is not as likely that the same melody can bring together people of different generations.