Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

As globalization is going on and the price of transportation to other countries is going down, people tend to leave their country and move to large cities such as London, Vancouver, and New York. One of the reasons is to find a good place to live. However, people who move to a new city may be discriminated against by local people due to language and cultural differences. Therefore, the government needs to make some policies to ensure all the people live harmoniously. Firstly, the government can make some programs to encourage people from another country to adapt well to society. An example of this policy can be a language or history program run by public or private institutes. When people understand the history of the country, they feel more comfortable understanding differences in culture and it can help them to communicate with local people. Secondly, world history should be mandatory in secondary school to make our children respect foreigners. When we teach our children focusing on their own history, they may have prejudiced perspectives on other countries and cannot embrace the differences of others. Teaching this difference to young children will ultimately contribute to making people live harmoniously. Lastly, the government can give benefits on tax for those who immigrate to the country for a specific period. These economic benefits will make immigrants take some time and spend their time to be more involved in community works. In conclusion, these three policies can help foreigners to live harmoniously and they will make a more balanced society.