In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In most developed countries of the world, the average life expectancy of the populace is constantly increasing. In turn, the state is forced to spend more and more funds to maintain health care. However, I believe that medication is not a solution to the problem. The inaccessibility of medication for certain social groups and the focus of doctors on wealthy patients can become a serious problem. First, we must not forget that not all populations have a stable income. For example, in Russia, according to official data, 15% of the nation is below the poverty line. This means that these people do not have savings and their income is only enough to meet their current needs Without government support, they will not be able to afford high-quality therapy and will simply refuse it. Secondly, paid medicine is always a material interest of doctors in a patient, because the clinic's earnings depend on the number of patients and the services provided to them. In Russia, patients often find themselves in a situation where it is beneficial for doctors that the patient is sick. They may prescribe unnecessary examinations and tests, or recommend more expensive treatments. At the same time, the high cost of treatment does not always mean that it is of high quality. In conclusion, I believe that medicine based on paid services inevitably leads to an increase in morbidity and disability among society. The disabled population is always an economic loss for the state. The best option would be insurance medicine with a small sector of quality paid medical treatment.