Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than history. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about what contemporary students should study at school. Some believe that history is considered crucial for education while others argue that practical subjects like science and technology play a more important role in modern society. In my opinion, no matter history or science is indispensable for the whole education system and which of them are more important depends on learners and circumstances. There are various reasons why people reckon that technical courses are more useful than historical courses. They may assert that subjects like science, technology, artificial intelligence are more likely beneficial than theoretical knowledge. From a personal perspective, it can be argued that these courses provide better job opportunities, career progression, higher salaries, and therefore an improved quality of life for students. On the societal level, encouraging people to choose technology-related professionals can facilitate new inventions, economic growth and greater future prosperity. In spite of these arguments, I believe that history is essential for all of us. There is no standard for us to evaluate history, while the meaning of it is significant. For example, mores of our contemporary community are originated from our history, we would not know why we should obey some basic ethical rules if we do not understand history. Moreover, people think that history is less important because a few companies would recruit a person whose major is history. However, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be the most useful in the future, and it may be that employees begin to value historical talents. In conclusion, although technical subjects have advantages in some certain fields, I personally think that all subjects could make a difference in our cultures, economics and politics.