News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? would it be better if more good news reported?

There is no doubt that current television and newspaper topics are being carefully picked by a relatively small group of chief editors. The main goal of any message is to keep viewers' attention, hence to maintain a certain level of a channel or newspaper popularity and this is the main criteria that affect the editors' choice. This essay supports the view that the majority of the audience is overwhelmed with a negative newsfeed and it will be better to maintain a healthy balance between positive and negative announcements. To begin with causes, the leaders of any media source are driven to attract as many audiences as possible and unfortunately the report that tends to cause emotional distress is the best tool to achieve this. According to a recent study, conducted by "Fox News", almost 85 per cent of responders admitted that a bad statement was substantially more interesting compare to a neutral or positive message. As a result, these days media is overwhelmed announcing either personal tragedies or international conflicts. Despite the fact that distressing broadcast is more popular, the majority of media content consumers prefer to have equalized numbers of negative and cheerful stories. The reason for that is people are getting depressed and anxious by hearing only account that causing a high level of anxiety for themselves and their close ones. Moreover, not only do individuals have to deal with personal problems but also receiving a bundle of negative content from a television or a newspaper causing a "snowball" shifting mood to a chronically low state. As a solution, having equally distributed content appears to be crucial for the physical and mental wellbeing of society. In conclusion, this essay has described some factors that make head editors choose sad over good news. Also, the conclusion has been drawn that people are overconsuming negative news and it would be beneficial to diversify content with cheerful stories.