Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic?What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Over the last few years, there has been a significant increase in the number of people travelling to the inhabitable regions. There are undoubtedly numerous advantages of visiting these hostile areas like exposure and adrenaline rush; however, there are a number of demerits too. To begin with, pupils travelling to these extreme conditions gain a plethora of knowledge and also become extremely confident. To elaborate, by exploring difficult landscapes a person can become immensely knowledgeable about several untouched geographical locations, and at the same time, these experiences boost their capacity of doing normal activities. For instance, according to a study conducted at the University of Singapore, it was found that travellers visiting harsh regions have a good immune system as well as their metabolism rate is better for doing day-to-day chores. Moreover, visiting these places gives the person a sense of satisfaction which one can not achieve by reading or watching a movie. On the other hand, there are a handful of problems while engaging in such activities. Firstly, such secluded areas are underdeveloped and lack the basic necessities of survival. In other words, the populace today is habitual of living a comfortable life, and they tend to require some amenities which are impossible to be found in such inhabitable landscapes. For example, it may get extremely difficult to provide medical facilities to tourists suffering from any health ailment. Furthermore, while exploring the alien land there are several chances of getting exposed to unknown diseases which can be deadly in nature. To conclude, in my opinion, travelling to places with extreme living conditions are definitely beneficial for humans in several ways, but the drawbacks are significantly grave and they outweigh the advantages magnificently.