In some countries, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

Children have instilled an idea constantly, which is that they are able to accomplish anything as long as they try hard enough, in several countries. And I believe they are both advantages and disadvantages of sending kids this kind of message. On the one hand, telling children are capable of achieving anything only if they try their best could obviously help to build up confidence for them. In that case, young kids have faiths to try anything they want to which may help them in future later on. Moreover, children who believed in that idea will not be afraid of any obstacles they may face and even may overcome the number of difficulties they encounter by way of their hard-working. Lastly, children who have that kind of belief in their mind won't give up easily which is quietly likely they achieve more. For example, when I tried to learn how to cycle at the very beginning, I kept falling and could not ride on my own. My mother kept telling me that I can do it as long as keep practices and try my best. Eventually, I learned how to ride a bicycle and kept her words in my mind. On the other side, sadly, this message is not true in certain circumstances. For instance, I am terrible at my math all the time, but I still kept trying and kept failed, eventually, I could just accept my weakness in math even though I gave my best. What’s more, everyone has talents in a different field, they would be wasting their time if they kept trying in the domain they do not excel in. Apart from that, people who keep trying and keep failing are very likely to doubt themselves and lost all the confidence in their weak fields. Take me as an example, I chose a major which does not involve math at all, since I am so terrified of math In conclusion, I think informing children about they can achieve anything if they try hard enough have both pros and cons.