Some people think it does not matter if a professional sportsman or sportswoman misbehaves on or off the field, as long as they play well. What is your opinion about this?

The behaviour of the personalities in the world of sports is very crucial both on and off the field. Some people are of the opinion that it does not matter if they perform well, while others contradict this view. This essay will discuss in the forthcoming paragraphs that why irrespective of the performance it is vital to behave properly. Firstly, renowned personalities have a huge impact on the younger generation. The children watch their favourite game on the television; thus, follow different players whom they love. Moreover, they aspire to become like them once they grow up. For example, Sachin Tendulkar, a former Indian cricketer, is considered as “The God “of cricket. The young boys and girls dream to become like him one day. Thus, if he misbehaved on the ground or outside, young people might learn and implement that in future. Hence, it is extremely important for the sportsperson to behave properly in order to shape up the future generation. Secondly, they carry with themselves the image of the nation. Thus, doing something inappropriate, portray a detrimental picture of the entire country. For instance, a famous football player once slapped one of his co-players on the field. Although this happened long back, till today everyone remembers that incident and discuss it during matches. Often, it is seen that the story gets tagged with the nationality of the individual. Henceforth, it is important that one should be cautious about their own responsibility. To conclude, in my opinion, it is of enormous importance that men and women who are choosing sports as their profession should control their emotions and follow good manners.