Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom. Do you agree with this statement? What is an alternative to traditional face to face teaching?

It is predicted that artificial intelligence teaching will take over traditional education methods involving teachers ’ presence. Despite the increasing rate of technological involvement in present-day classrooms, I strongly disagree with the statement. That is because human interactions between students and professors are a vital part of studying. However, online classrooms might be seen as an alternative option. Although artificial intelligence-based learning may provide a broader scope of knowledge compared to human teachers, their lack of emotional understanding will prevent them from changing the current learning process. For instance, AI is unable to recognise students’ emotions, such as boredom or inattentiveness, whereas teachers can not only identify them but also try to make lessons more engaging. Furthermore, one of the crucial aspects of education is getting feedback and clear instructions, which cannot be achieved by AI. On the contrary, teachers can provide timely responses and criticism. Nevertheless, that does not mean that there are no other possibilities to learn but in a traditional classroom setting. Currently, online courses are gaining popularity due to their convenience. The concept of e-learning is easy to understand. Students pay for courses they are interested in and watch teaching videos as well as submit homework on a platform. The assignments are then evaluated by other course-takers or by a teacher. The major advantage of this type of learning is that it is accessible from any part of the world. As an example, one can take a course offered by a university in the USA without physically attending the classroom or travelling there. Thus, a student also saves money and is able to study at a suitable time. To conclude, while teachers will not be replaced by artificial intelligence in a physical classroom, online courses may be seen as an alternative version of education.