Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The issue whether government should spend funds on railroads or highways is a moot point for people nowadays, some people believe that the roadways are more advantageous than the railways. According to my belief, railways are better mode of transportation than any other ways. Firstly, allocating public funds in establishing and improving railways will decrease the mortality rate as this mode of commuting is environmental friendly and it releases less carbon dioxide which will reduce diseases like cancer, migraine, respiratory illness etc. In other words, the citizens of the nation will enjoy a healthy lifestyle. For example, findings of a research conducted by Delhi university shows that constructing metro trains have reduced the pollution by 28% and which indirectly has improved health of people. Secondly, The development of railways have direct impact on the economic development of the nation, it will increase the employment opportunities for the people. By making sure that the facility of railway is available to everyone the officials should try to build rail tracks in each and every corner of the country. For instance, a study in China has revealed that after improving railroads rate of unemployment decreased in developing countries as majority of people got employed in this sector which lead to improvement in their way of living. To summarize, the government has to take initiative to develop railways though it is burdensome in the matter of finance but it will have positive impact on the country as it will increase the economic growth and as well as improve the standard of living of people.