Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Concentrations issues among school children are increasing nowadays. This essay will discuss the major problems associated with this along with some pragmatic solutions to sort it out. A variety of problems are associated with students’ decreasing attention span. Primarily, the excessive use of mobile devices is harming their ability to concentrate. To exemplify, continuous mobile notifications disturbs the overall experience of the class, as students cannot avoid the urge to check their devices frequently, leading to a short attention span. Secondly, changing roles in the family are affecting mentally. It has been observed that children with both working parents face emotional detachment, as parents usually are busy working and earning, resulting in major depression and focusing issues. For instance, increased cases of depression among school children proves emotionally deprived mental situation. There are two effective solutions to resolve this issue. One way to tackle this is the structured and monitored use of mobile devices on campus. Institutes should install CCTV cameras in classrooms as well as in laboratories to monitor students’ actions. Another way to mitigate this situation is, parents should provide emotional support to their children and they must closely monitor their school activities. For example, helping in their child’s assignments can be one of the best ways to participate in their life, making them feel heard and understood. In conclusion, this essay highlighted the causes of decreasing focus among school children and this essay also presented solutions to these are twofold monitoring cell phone use and increasing family intimacy.