In most developed countries shopping is not about buying the goods you need, it is also perceived as entertainment. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your own opinion and examples based on your experience?

Shopping has become widely popular activity nowadays. Some people believe that it is not just about purchasing required items, but also considered as source of entertainment in some of the developed nations. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of the matter with further explanation and relevant examples. First of all, to begin with, shopping has become one of the popular activities in some countries like The United States of America, The United Kingdom or United Arab of Emirates. Increased demand of considering shopping as an activity for entertainment, comes with its merits. For insurance, selling television or smartphone. In the past time, these devices were not provided with any demonstration of its functions. However, in current time, most of the stores provide comparison between all sort of devices along with consumer access to the actual product. Which not only attracts more customers but also works as a source of entertainment since young people find it fascinating to see a huge variety of devices that display of their favourite show or perhaps music video. On the other hand, increased popularity of shopping as a hobby results has many dimerits merits also. If people consider it as their source of entertainment, if might result in the financial loss. For example, before pandemic, once me and my friends were planning an activity for the weekend. Because we didn't come up with any idea, we decide to go for shopping since everyone preferred it as best way to spend our time. However, when we visited the Apple store, I saw ongoing offers of smartphones and I ended up buying a mobile which was quite unnecessary and overpriced. It resulted in increasing high debt amount for the credit card I am holding. In conclusion, with the above mentioned points, in my opinion, increased demand of shopping as an activity has its benefits, as well as drawbacks, depending upon how it has been perceived. An individual must consider their needs before buying any product to ensure they are not spending any extra money on any irrelevant items.