News editors decide what to broadcast on televisions and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

One of the rudimentary duties for media editors especially in television and newspaper industries is to chose broadcasted topics. In my opinion, the main factors that influence these decisions are audiences’ attentiveness and participation. Additionally, negative contents always get a good rating so that we familiar with this type of news. On the other hand, positive headings should be more mentioned. Notably, engagements shown in terms of news ranking are substantial to news channels because the more viewers they have, the more advertisements they gain. These also directly affects audiences to get involved by sending SMS to show their opinion or sharing the news post on the internet. Therefore, if any news reaches these targets at a high level, it also expresses how much they are successful too.  From the statistic, distressing news consistently commercials then virtually appear in the reports. There is in general to have this kind of issue but the problem is the reporter’s focus on the atrocious dimension, even the part that should not mention nevertheless can be the partway to go up to the top news. To illustrate, the story about a 6 years old girl who was abandoned in the park was presented by interviewing her instead of talking about the cause and prevention. Indeed, society needs more nourishing news to be the role model and motivation. As the example news mentioned before, anchors reveal the project for supporting parents who are in difficult situations of rising children, rising this point counted as enhanced voice. In conclusion, the most important part of a news editor is to choose appropriate publishing advantages both in the market and social. The company not only make money on news but also improve life quality for the world.