Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, many people prefer to learn a foreign language abroad instead of studying in their countries. While there might be possible disadvantages for this development, the advantages, in my opinion, are more significant. To begin with, the first downside of studying languages abroad is that it is expensive. This is because several costs might not be affordable for everyone. For example, the cost of travel tickets, admission fees, and cost of living is high in some regions such as Europe. Thus, low-income people may not be able to cover these expenses. Secondly, some of the people who study a foreign language abroad might develop self-isolation. The reason for this, when they are at the beginner level, they might not be able to deal with locals on daily tasks such as shopping. Therefore, that communication barrier may lead them to avoid social interaction with local inhabitants. On the other hand, the first advantage of this trend is that this experience is more likely to be the fastest way to learn a foreign language. In other words, most ex-pats are more likely to be challenged and motivated to understand the foreign language from native speakers as they interact with them on numerous occasions. In contrast, if they learn a foreign language in their home country, they might not feel challenged enough to learn quickly. With that in mind, they will spend a lot of time translating what they hear first in their mother tongue language. What is more, those who seek to learn a foreign language overseas, are more likely to gain new insights. This is because any country's language is considered an integral part of its culture and the key to understanding local traditions. As a result, those foreigners enjoy a sense of appreciation, and this, indeed, broadening their horizons as they can understand how other people think and live. In conclusion, although learning a foreign language abroad brings several problems such as hectic costs to some people and possible self-isolation. The benefits it brings such as a faster way for learning it and broadening their horizons are, in my opinion, more beneficial.