Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Do you think there more advantages than disadvantages?

Traditionally, children begin studying foreign languages at secondary school. Many individual schools or educationalists have recommended studying foreign dialects at an earlier stage. Learning an unknown language is not that simple and it makes it really easy when you are young, however, pupils may confuse with their mother tongue and may lead to mixed speech. While acknowledging that there are drawbacks to this policy this essay will argue that the benefits of studying an overseas language at the primary school outweigh the disadvantages. On one hand, young children pick up dialect much more easily than teenagers. Their brains are programmed to learn their mother tongue which also facilitates learning another language. At a young age, children are enthusiastic to explore and to learn new things. The primary timetable should allow more frequent shorter sessions for maintaining the learner's enthusiasm and progress. Acquiring foreign languages can also help them to understand other cultures. On the other hand, a child who learns their mother tongue since birth, listening, watching and speaking in the same language for a considerable period may become confused when a new language is introduced. This,in turn,leads to a confused state and the use of both styles when communicating. It can impact studying other subjects and they may face other social issues. For example is that in England, immigrants’ children use words from both their mother dialect and English to convey a message. In conclusion, though there are disadvantages of feeding a foreign language to children at primary school it benefits them to be proficient which outweigh the disadvantages.