People who live in foreign countries should follow the traditions and customs. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

As globalisation continues, the question of whether people who live in foreign countries should observe local traditions and customs persists. While I agree that immigrants should learn to adapt to the new cultures, I do not believe that they have to abandon their own values and beliefs. There are two major reasons why immigrants should make an effort to integrate. From the societal perspective, this integration ensures functioning and stable societies since they are, in essence, established on principles of shared values and norms. If newcomers resisted adjustment, the possibility of conflict and discrimination would increase, causing damage to individuals’ lives and society as a whole. Also, the adoption of new standards of behaviours could benefit those who have started to reside in a new country in both material and spiritual terms. This particularly holds true for children; for instance, when a child starts school at a new place, his ability to speak the native language and conduct himself according to the local standards would certainly allow him to thrive in the new environment. However, I would argue that adaptation does not necessarily mean entire assimilation. This means that immigrants are expected to respect and embrace the new cultures without losing the right to retain their heritage and culture. Most people choose to live in another country because they want better living conditions, but not at the price of losing their identity. For example, although many Vietnamese have settled in the US for a long time, they still keep the tradition of worshiping their ancestors on an altar and celebrate their traditional New Year. As a result, the host countries would see an increase in cultural diversity, which in turn makes people’s lives richer and fuller. In conclusion, I am convinced that people should adopt the traditions and customs of their new homes, but should also rightfully be able to maintain their cultures of origin.