Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that host country should welcome culture difference. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some that foreign tourists should behave the same way as the locals while there are others who believe that local residents ought to embrace cultural differences. In my opinion, people should be encouraged to accept the customs of visitors to promote global cultural diversity. The main reason some individuals are opposing the idea of tourists refusing local traditions is that it could lead to chaos in society. Most of the local customs and behaviour have a crucial role in maintaining order and avoiding misunderstanding between members of the community. Not following them, for this reason, would result in local residents developing animosity towards visitors. In Tokyo, for instance, users of escalators are supposed to leave the right side open for those who are in a rush, and the refusal of this custom would cause inconvenience for others. Others, on the other hand, think that people should be more tolerant and accepting of cultural differences in this increasingly globalised world. In recent years, more and more individuals are crossing borders to live in another country. In this situation, having a negative attitude towards other cultures only hinders progress in society as it creates conflict between the locals and immigrants. Therefore, by actively welcoming customs of other cultures, people can create a society where people of all racial groups can thrive. Finally, I believe that behaviours of visitors' home country should be allowed as it would create valuable learning opportunities for local residents. Undoubtedly, there are numerous benefits to learn about other cultures; it provides fresh perspectives and cultivates creativity. Appreciating cultural differences enriches people's lives as a result. For example, there are a number of environmentally friendly practices that people in other cultures can incorporate into their lives, such as reusing the water used for washing rice for skincare in Japan. In conclusion, although local customs are invaluable to the community in maintaining peace, I feel that people should learn to accept differences in order to foster diversity. It is crucial that each of us strive to have a deeper understanding of other cultures.