Some people think that governments should ban plastic completely, arguing that the material pollutes land, sea, and air, contaminating food sources and causing damage to humans and animals alike. Others believe that plastic makes life safer, healthier, and more convenient, and therefore governments should approach its regulation more conservatively. Which of these two opinions do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

In this article, Wahlquist explains that Australian environment ministers recently met to confirm which single-use plastics would be phased out by 2025. The ministers discussed other topics, including making a more “climate-resilient Australia,” and their support for a national koala monitoring program. Wahlquist points out that some conservationists feel the phase-out of plastic does not go far enough and that the government needs to take a tougher stance by banning single-use plastic altogether. Walhquist quotes conservationists Milthorpe and Stasak, who agree that the government urgently needs to commit to stronger environmental standards and a commitment to reform. (98 words) In my opinion, governments need to better regulate plastic consumption; however, I do not think they need to ban the use of all plastics. First, all single-use plastics should be banned to prevent them from infiltrating our water, land, and air. Although straws and plastic bags may be convenient, they offer only a short-term benefit; in the long run, they will accumulate and wreak havoc on future generations. I applaud Australia for their efforts to reduce single-use plastics by 2025. However, some forms of plastic can be important and life-saving, such as bicycle helmets, wind turbines, and medical equipment. Governments should use economic incentives to encourage manufacturers to utilize non- plastic alternatives. They should also fund research into alternative materials development, such as bioplastic, which is biodegradable. In sum, governments need to help us reduce our dependence on plastic, so that we can protect future generations.