Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays learning a foreign language has become significantly popular among people. A part of the society believes that an individual learns a second language for the purpose of travelling or working abroad, while others think that these two are not the only reason why an individual should learn another language. I opine with the latter statement. The significant development in industry and technology has inclined people to work abroad as multinational companies like Apple, Google, Facebook are welcoming employees from all over the world but these firms are reluctant to recruit if the person is not multilingual. For this purpose, an individual learns a foreign language for better career opportunities. On the other hand, students who want to study in a foreign country are required to be native to the language spoken there so that they can communicate with the citizens of the host country. For instance, if a student wants to study in France he should be able to communicate in the french language for his convenience. Similarly, a person learns a foreign language for entertainment purposes also like reading books and watching shows which are of other languages. For example, many children are fond of reading Japanese comics and if these comics are translated into a native language then they cannot be enjoyed much. Also, teenagers nowadays are fond of Korean shows which urge them to learn the Korean language. The University of Waterloo has published a study of cognitive biology which explains that learning a new language can improve the functioning of the brain. To conclude, though the majority of the people learn a foreign language for travelling abroad and to work overseas. The advantage of learning a second language for other purposes is helpful even if the person never to want leave his home country.