In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is frequently argued that students have to work or travel during the school period and then go to university. In this essay I am going to discuss about the prons and the cons giving some examples. Firstly I think that the main advantage of working during the school period is because the student can make experience practicing what he has studied during the winter, for examples a linguistic student can improve his language skills working with tourists in a resturant as waiter. Moreover, if the student decided to work during the summer holliday Holliday holidays, he can earn some money and became financially independent from his parents. Although there are several positive consequences for the work - student, there are also a number of disadvantages in working during the school period. One example is when the student can not manage all the tasks together as a consequance he does not study with a negative effects in school ’s marks. This can be a problem also if the guy decided to travel due to the fact that he can not attend the lessons and so there is a trade off between a student with good marks and a student with a work experience. In conclusion, I think that there are advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to work or travel during the high school period and in my opinion I believe that students must have the opportunity to choose whatever they want and what they thinks is the most suitable programme for their life.