In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, young people are no longer interested in reading newspapers or watching news programs on television. There are many reasons behind this and the most important one is that youngsters are no longer dependent on television or printed media for news and information. They can get updates from the internet. There are several reasons why newspapers are not being read by young people in many countries. The most important one is the evolution of information technology. One no longer has to read a newspapers to stay updated on the latest happenings in the world. It is now possible to get instant updates from websites like Google and Twitter. Another reason for this loss of interest in newspapers and news channels is the outdated way of presentation. Youngsters need byte-sized information and lack the patience to read long news reports. Also, they have little interst in topics such as politics and business which receive undue coverage in traditional media. However, youngsters should be encouraged to read newspapers because these are authentic sources of information. This is not exactly the case with social media where gossips spread faster than truth. In order to win the attention of young people, newspapers should find out what they are interested in. To conclude, young people don’t read newspapers because they can recive news updates from other sources like the internet. Also, they are not intersted interest in the topics discussed in newspapers and on news channels. However, by creating content that interests young readers, newspapers and news channels can win the attention.