In many countries people do not recycle waste materials, such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

Recycling of waste materials is one of the effective methods to control the environmental pollution. Especially, recycling materials such as plastic, papers and glass is an important practice to decrease our impact on the environment. Hordes of people across the world do not recycle their waste as they are used to landfill. This essay will discuss why this might be the case and how this problem can be alleviated. The reasons for the lack of recycling is quite simple. Firstly, in most of the countries official recycling programmes does not exist, or they are relatively new. Therefore, a numerous people does not have awareness on the importance of recycling process. They are being used to engage with regular landfill without putting too much thought on it. On the other hand, government is not encouraging the citizens towards the collection of their waste and the process of its recycling. To encourage people to recycle more, a comprehensive public campaign is required. A good start would be to explain to people what economic and environmental benefits recycling can provide. For instance, Flyers can be delivered to each home and advertising on television. The next step is, the government should encourage public and startup companies to recycle the garbage collections by giving benefits like tax exemptions and subsidies. To summarize, it is the lack of awareness about the benefits of recycling and sort of refuse that prevents them from engaging with their convenient practice without much thought. When they fully understand the advantages, It leads them to recycle their rubbish at home and outside. I believe that, many will choose to do the right thing.