In many workplaces, online communication is becoming more common than face to face interaction. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a current trend to communicate online instead of using the usual in-person interaction. The idea of using services like Skype or Duo has shown some benefits. For example, in the last couple of years, many teachers have successfully delivered online classes. However, it is worth mentioning that some professions, such as surgeons, have certain limits using distance communication. This essay will discuss both views and conclude whether it is a positive or negative tendency for working communities. The main advantage of online education is a newly developed tool that helps teachers to provide quality education to students all over the world. That is to say, with online classes, a teacher can stay in places like a classroom or even a personal home, and explain material via an online conference. In addition, the online format allows easy sharing of handouts without excessive paper waste. To illustrate that, during the pandemic of 2020-2021, students who decided to receive online education have shown above-average academic performance compared to those who kept in-person learning. To sum up, teacher to student communication has shown to be a powerful tool. On the other hand, professions requiring extensive training and superior manual skills can not completely rely on online communication. To explain that, at this stage of technology surgeons still laking the ability to perform surgical procedures distantly. The problem still exists because there is no machine that can simulate human hand motion with the required precision. Hense, highly trained medical professionals still have to travel and perform surgeries in person. Despite that, medical professionals can connect to their colleagues and help with professional advice. In conclusion, despite significant drawbacks in certain professions, communicating online shows its benefits and potential in many fields of practice and has proven to be a useful tool.