Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

In British and Australia, a judge can' t get permission to know the previous criminal history of the accused person which resulted in the protection of the defendant. Consequently, it is suggested by some lawyers that this culture ought to be changed and a judge should be provided all the previous records before achieving their final comment about the case. In my opinion, I also agreed with the suggestion given by some judges. On one hand, the court doesn' t give access to past information of defendants to the Judge to make a final decision. Sometimes past events may affect the judge's negative views and thinking ability on the people who accused of the case but actually he/she not. For instance, suppose a person who was involved with a crime before coincidently but this person doesn' t commit any crime at this time. In this scenario, if a judge takes the decision based on the previous history, it might be inaccurate and punish an innocent one. However, know the other crimes would help the judge sometimes to give a more precise decision and prevent misunderstandings. On the other hand, it is perceived by some judges that they must need to know the past facts to make a final decision about the accused people. Although the decision should be based on the present crime and present laws rules, sometimes it is really difficult to know the nature of accused people without knowing his/her past crime. For example, suppose a robbery has been done by a group of the gang in a country but the police couldn' t catch them at the spot. In this case, the judge must need to know the previous history of these types of crimes to make a final decision. In conclusion, there are different ideas in court and laws where a judge can play a role based on the situation. Nevertheless, knowing the past history is the most important part to make a final decision about a crime.