Some people think that all young people should receive full-time education until 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undoubted that decent education can arm individuals with more comprehensive knowledge and markedly boost their future career prospects. Because of this, the question of when students should leave schools has been one of general interest. It is believed that receiving full-time education should be made mandatory for everyone until 18 years old. I completely agree with this thinking for the reasons provided below. The foremost benefit of requiring everyone under 18 to get formal schooling is that students could acquire more thorough knowledge as well as essential skills. In fact, the knowledge of different academic and science subjects as well as fundamental literacy and numeracy skills could be better acquired at educational institutions. Furthermore, classroom and extra-curricular activities at schools can significantly improve transferable and interpersonal skills such as problem solving or teamwork skills. Thus, making education compulsory for the same amount of time could make teenagers more well-rounded and knowledgeable, which could act as a precursor to a more educated and qualified workforce. In addition to equipping students with necessary knowledge and skills, compulsory schooling for everyone under 18 years old can guarantee greater equality. In many deprived and poverty-stricken areas, it is not uncommon to find children forced to leave their formal education to work manually or teenagers giving up their school years to land unskilled jobs in a bid to make ends meet. Thus, ensuring every individual to have ready access to good education until the age of 18 could hopefully ameliorate such dire situations and by extension, promote equity and social justice. In conclusion, the notion that nobody should leave school before the age of 18 is valid and this policy is highly important if a country is to possess more all-round individuals and skilled labor force as well as maintain impartiality to everyone.