In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Recent years have witnessed that the general populace tends to value possessing a house over renting. In my opinion, I would contend that this is part of a human natural desire for security and prestige, while it confers detrimental aspects. To begin with, I am of the opinion that we, as human beings, always want a place to live and feel secure, and this notion has created the demand for a home in the world we live in. This trend of acquiring a home is justified by the fact that once an individual owns a house, it is possible to spend money more freely without the fear of becoming homeless. As an illustration, an entry-level worker, who just has graduated from their tertiary education, might find it challenging and harsh to balance between maintaining a steady job and covering the rent against other expenses. Moreover, owning a house indeed lends an air of respectability. As a matter of fact, this has become widely known that only the wealthy could afford a house and most homeowners will take pride in the size and condition of their house as a signal of their social standing. Despite this development has been a part of our innate need amid the progressing advances of our society, it can portend negatively in the way we define homeownership. Some people, particularly ambitious ones, are obsessed with the must to buy a house at a young age. One of the greatest examples to demonstrate this is often cited in the case of the United States in the early 1990s when millions of the citizenry borrowed more than they could afford to desperately possess their own home. This incident eventually turned out that these people had defaulted on their payments due to the killing interest rate from the financial institutions, and consequently lost their lifetime of the investment. Had these people not followed the rat race of owning a house, they could have saved and invested their earnings in other forms of capital such as the stock market. In conclusion, while this development is the natural desire of potentially every individual around the world to have their own home, the unforeseen risk mentioned could redefine our interest in a house. There are numerous convenient yet affordable housing options available nowadays, I could forecast that home -ownership might see a decline in the near future.