Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give you own opinion.

People have two contradictive arguments about sharing information: share as much as possible information to the world, and keep some crucial data from free access. Both opinions have a positive and negative impact on the world and data owners. Firstly, the positive effect of sharing knowledge as much as possible generously without taking any advantage may significantly impact the improvement of academic research and people's lives. However, several data are very costly to collect, and with the limitation of the research budget, much research will be abandon and could not take a leap for a new finding and improving science and technologies. Nevertheless, if the data is available for free, researchers could utilize it as much as possible for their project or research. Therefore there will be a great development, especially in the academic aspect, to enhance human quality of life. However, following this, there will be a negative impact of sharing the information freely. It might cause harm in terms of privacy and confidentiality, mainly if the data belong to specific people or respondents and the data is too personal. The other opinion believes that some information is too valuable to be shared freely. The reason for this argument might be because it needs a considerable amount of money to collect the data and careful planning. The effort is too big; therefore, it will be wasteful and cause a disadvantage for people doing the data collection. Thus, they need to gain benefits because collecting data is not easy, and they need the money to improve their subsequent research or project. In my perspective, the general data, not detailed data that does not contain any personal information, should be available for people to access freely, e.g., the number of population, the proportion of something, or the location of the maps. Nonetheless, the data containing confidential information should not be shared, and it is not a problem and reasonable if someone wants to keep the data and to have the data, we must pay a certain of money because we have to value the effort behind the data.