Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

People have different views about the meanings of these old national holidays like Christmas Day, the Spring Festival. The public criticize that some have not remembered the values of those significantly traditional days, and they only care about entertainment. In my opinion, while part of us are unclear about some ancient festivals indeed, which still have profound influences. There are two key reasons why traditional or religious festivals should not be forgotten. Firstly, some festivals were introduced for memorising a great person or an important event. For example, Women's Day is celebrated every year to show our respects to people who fight for women's rights. Secondly, we spread our culture by celebrating special occasions. Santa will deliver gifts to children in the western world while red envelopes is a new-year present for Asian teenagers. In spite of these arguments, I believe that people should be free to choose ways for showing different festivals. In particular, younger generations have their own lifestyles that are opposite with elders. For example, there is a special public holiday called 'Dragon Boat Festival', which comes from ancient China for commemorating a poet. People in my parents' age would eat Zongzi on that day, while my peers choose to watch relevant movies and have a delicious dinner to relax during the three-day holiday. In my personal view, we also participate in this holiday by looking through social platforms and purchasing festival-related products. In conclusion, enjoying themselves does not mean that people have lost the meaning of these unique moments. With the development of the world, traditional and religious festivals have been endowed with new meanings.