The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that one of the most effective ways to tackle the world’s environmental issues is to raise the cost of fuel. While I agree that this may help to mitigate environmental problems, I think that there are other useful methods that can be adopted to improve the situation. National authorities should raise taxes on the cost of fuels. Firstly, by doing so, the governments would ensure that people use cars less, so there will be a reduction in the amount of carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere. Thus, this can slow the global warming and fight climate change in the future. Secondly, the natural sources such as fossil fuels are exhausted, the reduction in the use of vehicles may help humans to conserve the natural resources. However, there are other measures that can be adopted to mitigate the environmental consequences. The most important thing is that the restrictions in using private vehicles should be high in government agenda. For example, the congestion charge in London has reduced the flows of traffic in recent years. Another thing is that governments should allocate resources to the development of alternative resources to power motor vehicles and machinery factories. As part of an effort to achieve the sustainable development, countries should share scientific knowledge and advances in technology. This could range across the depletion of natural resources and the reclamation of forest land. In conclusion, although rising fuel costs is an effective way to alleviate environmental issues, there are other measures that could be taken to improve this situation.