Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technology, by manifesting itself into compact digital gadgets, has been incredibly interwoven into every aspect of our daily life to the point that some even considered it to be the irreplaceable invention of the past century. From my perspective, this notion is nowhere near an overstatement just by looking at the merits that technology, in particular, computers have benefited humans, therefore, I fully subscribe to this idea. Albeit many believe that much as computers are crucial, they do not serve any of our primary concerns according to Maslow's hierarchy of needs, which are physiological and safety requirements such as food, water, clothes, and shelter. In other words, there are much more innovations that are of greater importance in the last hundred years such as the microwave oven or the bread toaster, simply because these objects serve a more direct and vital purpose, that is our food. Without these, a standard American family in the 21st century would not be able to function properly as they are deprived of the easiest and most convenient way to ensure their energy and nutrient intake in the morning. Hence, were they are to wake up earlier and prepare the meals all by themselves without the assistance of these appliances, millions of American housewives would have to sacrifice their sleep and lead a lifestyle that is, not in the least, energy-efficient. Nevertheless, computers are created for a higher purpose, and by "higher", one is not meant to say "better", but is rather referring to more sophisticated needs, namely work and social development. Computers play such a crucial role that without which, even the Internet is rendered useless because personal access is not facilitated. It suggests that enterprises and organisations would not have been able to be formed and grow at a dizzying rate as they are right now had there not been for the creation of these devices. In the same way, computers not only allow children to do online learning, businessmen to arrange virtual conferences, but also enable doctors to diagnose and prescribe for their patients from a far distance. What is more, engineers and scientists are striving towards virtual operations, in which surgeons are capable of performing surgeries even when they are not physically present with the patients. With regards to a more mundane aspect, these omnipotent data processors have really diversified our recreational activities and even changed the way we communicate. A small contraption, yet withholds tremendous power that can cause global changes. In conclusion, even though computers do not have a direct impact on our basic needs as we eat, drink, and shower the same before and after their advent, they certainly served as an invaluable tool for humans to be able to cause such impactful change around the world, usually for the better. For this reason, computers deserve to be viewed as one of our greatest inventions, not only in the past hundred years, but probably throughout human history.