Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

People have different views about how government should measure their countries’ progress. While economic progress is of course essential, I agree with those who believe other factors are just as important. There are three key reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental goal for the countries. Firstly, a healthy economy will be resulted in job creation, a high level of employment and better salaries for publics. Secondly, economic progress ensure that government will have more budget to spend on infrastructure and public services. For example, a government with higher revenue can invest in the country’s transport network, its education system and its hospitals. Finally, a strong economy can help a country stand on a global stage, in terms of political influence and trading power. However, I would argue that various forms of progress are just as significant as economic factors mentioned above. In particular, we should consider the area of social justice, human rights and democracy. For example, the treatment of minority groups is often seen as a reflection of the moral standards and level of development of society. Perhaps another key consideration of judging the progress of a modern country should be how well the country protect the environment, and whether it is moving towards environmental sustainability. Alternatively, the success of a nation could be measured by looking at the health, well-being and happiness of its residents. In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key marker of a country’s success, but scial still, environmental and health criteria are equally significant.