The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion?

It is true that one of the most effective ways to tackle global environmental issues is to raise the cost of fuel. While I agree that this may bring tangible benefits to humans, I would argue that other measures can be adopted to mitigate environmental issues. Governments should raise the taxes on fuel. Firstly, by doing so, local authorities would ensure that their citizens use private cars less. Thus, the amount of carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere will be reduced and this would contribute to fighting climate change and slowing global warming in the next years. Secondly, as the natural resources of energy are becoming exhausted, the reduction in using cars will ensure a sustainable development of exploitation of natural resources in the future. However, there are other ways that can be adopted to mitigate this situation. The most important thing is that the restrictions on the use of vehicles should be high on the government agendas. For example, the congestion charge on vehicles in London has made a contribution to reducing the discharge of exhaust fumes. Another method is that governments should allocate resources to the development of alternative sources of energy to power motor vehicles and machinery factories and make them viable for public use. In addition, international cooperations to share scientific knowledge and advances in technology should be promoted. In conclusion, although raising fuel costs is a useful method to mitigate environmental issues, there are many effective measures that can be taken to solve these problems.