In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is becoming common nowadays for the elderly to go and live in nursing homes where they will get extra care. Due to the demand, these come with a high price on maintaining the institutions, as medical expenditure is deemed to be high currently. In Britain especially, most of the time, the bill is being paid by taxpayer’s money. I personally feel that it is unfair to the state on bearing the price, where the family will also need involvement in it. Certain people tend to be burdened whenever they need to provide care for the elderly in the family. They tend to look at it as an extra chore that takes out precious time from them. It is these which leads them to send their elderly loved ones to a nursing home so that they do not have to worry about them. While not worrying, they need to be aware of the expenditure which will occur when they utilize the service from the care centres, and not solely depends on the authority. On the other hand, the government needs to ensure that there is a proper process in place to audit the nursing home residents, where it details the family background and income level. The data should help the authorities to determine whether monetary assistance is needed, and they can categorise it accordingly to low, middle, and high-income groups. This will enable the ministry on ensuring prudent spending is done on their annual budget. This is currently done in Malaysia where targeted subsidies are given based on income group. In conclusion, I believe those who can afford the services of nursing homes should do their due diligence in paying the bills and let the state grant go to those who are in need.