Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

Technology has been a boon and bane in today's contemporary era. Nowadays, it transforms the way people communicate and also the relationships that people make. I largely believe that this has a positive impact than the negative ones and will put forth my opinion with the help of examples. On the one hand, there is a myriad of advantages on how technology has impacted humans. People from around the world get to connect with each other through various platforms. In other words, like-minded people get to share new things and also collaborate with each other on new ideas on how to make the world a better place. Furthermore, technology has also contributed to a student's growth in many ways. To be precise, a student can access information on a wide range of topics on a smartphone with a single click of a button. According to a study by IIT Kharagpur, a student only learns 40% through textbooks and other sources about his subject but skyrockets to 80% when a student uses new techniques like visualization to learn which is only possible with the help of technology. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages with the advent of technology. The human touch which is an important aspect of one's life disappears and the quality of interaction between people is limited to a certain extent. To put it another way, this may be a particular problem for children's social development as they used to be seen playing out on the streets but are now too often indoors. Technology can also mean people are detached from what is going on around them even when they are out, as can be seen by the many people staring into their mobile phones as they travel or walk around. To conclude, it may be seen that the negative impacts play a role to a certain extent but the positives with the invention of technology can be mind-boggling.