Today foods travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

With the advent of technology, people the world over are enjoying products, not produced or manufactured in their homeland. Consequently, in this day and age, foods and beverages are exported from one part of the earth to the other in order to satisfy customers’ demands and need. I wholeheartedly deem that travelling foodstuffs thousands of miles from the agricultural land the consumers living in other countries is indubitably a positive development. Inasmuch as all products are not available in every country down to poor economic or weather conditions, it is inevitable to trade those things between countries, having surplus and deficit so as to meet the hidden demand of some people as well as earn money from trading. In other words, when consumers see different types of foods on TV or social networking sites that are uncommon to them, they build a desire to taste those. Insofar as nowadays it is possible to export things easily by different media, such as ship, air and suchlike, nations producing goods are sending to other states want to import and meet the wishes of their citizens. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 80% of trade occurs in this world occurs down to having demand to taste foods of a foreign country. Therefore foodstuffs travel millions of miles from farms to consumers. This type of trading surely has many considerable benefits in an economy in that many country’s excess foods are getting the right values. To be more precise, if states have a large number of products than their internal need and do not have opportunities to export those products, their farmers have to bear huge losses, causing an economic downturn also. To exemplify, in 2009, Indian farmers damaged their potatoes because they could not sell those to any buyers, which generated a huge amount of financial loss. Hence, trading among countries is assuredly beneficial. In conclusion, much as there exists demand to consume foods producing another country, exporters send their things to other nations with a view to earning money that is a positive development.