People use the Internet for medical advice and to do medical check ups rather than directly meeting with doctors in an office. Why are they using the Internet for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, medical institutions have incorporated technology to improve the quality of care. As part of this trend, people consult with their doctors online instead of seeing them face-to-face. This is because of the convenience that it provides and there are some negative consequences for care -receivers. The primary reason many people use online platforms to receive advice and check-ups from medical professionals is that it saves them time as well as effort. Similar to online shopping, online communication technology has allowed individuals to receive medical services from the comfort of their homes, removing the need to spend time travelling to hospitals. This is especially beneficial to those with limited mobility due to their conditions. Those with leg injuries, for instance, are utilising the internet as walking to the medical office would put a strain on their body. Despite the benefit it brings, online medical consultations and examinations are accompanied by risks regarding patients' health. Online platforms allow doctors to have inadequate resources, which significantly hinders them from having a deeper understanding of patients' conditions and providing them with sufficient care. For example, the identification and treatment of cancer are crucial in its early stages of development. Through online examinations, however, doctors are unable to use equipment such as an MRI scanner in order to detect early signs, which could lead patients to suffer from developed symptoms later on. In conclusion, individuals use the internet for medical services for convenience, but it is a negative development as it leads to the declined quality of care. It is crucial that we consider the risks of utilising online technology for health care.