Some people think that robots are important for human’s future development. Others think that robots have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Robotics is an interdisciplinary field that integrates computer science and engineering to design machines that can help and assist human beings. A stratum of society opines that automation of tasks by robots is a positive development for the future whereas another section believes that this would bring some negative impact on the society. On the one hand, cost effectiveness, improved quality assurance, increased productivity etcetera are the major advantages of employing robots in real life. The cost of investment to purchase a robot can be recovered in a relatively short space of time as the they will not avail any lunch breaks, holidays or sick leaves unlike the regular employees. The decline in concentration levels due to repetitive tasks for a long time found in human beings are not observed in the case of robots. In addition to that, automated robots can be exposed to toxic and hazardous environment like nuclear power stations, rigs and mines were human body is vulnerable to potential injuries caused by various chemicals and radiations. On the other hand, one of the biggest concerns surrounding the introduction of robotic automation is the impact of jobs for workers. With the advancement in machine learning and artificial intelligence, industries have introduced robots to automate tasks were no human intervention is required. This has caused a sudden decrease in need of human employees to perform the same task resulting in unemployment. Furthermore, robots run on a specific algorithm designed for it and are not ready for unforeseeable situations like hacking. For instance, if these automated machines are used in banking systems then there are possible chances of accounts getting hacked leading to various fraudulent activities. To summarise, the advancement of robots is unquestionably a positive development in a variety of fields such as medicine, factories, manual labour, and many others, but the algorithm on which they operate must be fully secure and equipped with the most up-to-date devices in order to reduce the risk of hacking, fraud, and malfunction.