As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea that besides earning money, companies should have public responsibilities remains a source of controversy. While I agree that making profits is the top priority for companies, I would argue that they should conduct their businesses in a socially responsible manner. There are some reasons why businesses should focus on earning income. The first reason is that firms can use their capital to expand their production. Thus, this can provide more job opportunities to local people and contribute to improving the quality of life in some areas. Another reason is that the more money companies earn, the more taxes they pay to the government. For example, governments have more revenue to spend in key fields such as education, agriculture and medicine. However, businesses should have social responsibilities. Firstly, factory processes have caused serious environmental degradation, including air and water pollution. For instance, the irresponsible disposal of chemical wastes into rivers has polluted water sources, which leaves a legacy of cancer deaths in the future. So, firms should allocate resources to install water treatment systems to solve industrial waste before discharging into oceans. Secondly, big corporations can enhance their public image by taking part in philanthropic actions. For instance, they should help those who are less fortunate or give scholarships to students in remote areas. Thus, by doing so, this not only helps society but also raises their sales figures. In conclusion, besides making profits, I think that firms have a moral duty and tangible benefits to hold some social responsibilities.