It is important for children to learn difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers are allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

A child will be successful only when he is in the right direction with values and morals. It is responsibility of the elders in society to guide younger children. It is imperative to teach the child about what is right and wrong at an early age. Punishment does not always serve right, sometimes it may lead children in the wrong direction, a little punishment can be given if the child is hesitant to adapt to a righteous behaviour. Parents and teachers should mould the children into the right path. They should be able to distinguish the right and wrong at an early age because it helps to build their character with strong foundations. If they do not learn these things, it may lead the child to hurt his peer students or even commit crimes. For instance, there are children without parents and shelter, they grow up on their own and these are the more likely one’s to commit some serious crimes because no one has ever taught them what is right and what is wrong. It will be easier for parents and guides to educate their children about morals and values at earlier stage because it is the phase where children start understanding the world. Children always try to imitate their elders, so it is always essential for a parent to act right in front of them. The children at young age are easy to manipulate. For example, the kinder garden student will believe his parents and try to learn things from them, where a secondary school student never listens to parents or teachers. Punishments are not always solution for guiding a student into right direction. This can have a negative effect on their attitude and behaviour. Although, simple punishments like grounding can be given to notorious children. All in all, It is essential to teach children about right and wrong at an early to have respectable position in the society at later age.